HomeBreaking NewsFraser-Pryce to lead Jamaica’s Olympic charge in Tokyo

Fraser-Pryce to lead Jamaica’s Olympic charge in Tokyo

As expected sprint queen Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce heads a strong 62-member team that was named by the Jamaica Athletics Administrative Association (JAAA) to represent the country at the upcoming Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

Elaine Thompson-Herah will also be looking to successfully defend her 100m and 200m titles in Tokyo, but there will be no such opportunity for 2016 Rio Olympics 110m hurdles champion, Omar McLeod, who unsurprisingly, not named to the team, after his shocking last place finish at the National Senior Championships – Jamaica’s Olympic Trials.

McLeod subsequently complained of cramps and there were calls from some fans for the second fastest man in the event this season to be included, in spite of his performance at the Trials.

New short sprint sensation, Shericka Jackson, who won a 400m bronze in Rio de Janeiro, will compete in the 100m and 200m in Tokyo, with World Championships long jump gold medallist Tajay Gayle, silver medal winners Fedrick Dacres (Discus), Shanieka Ricketts (Triple Jump) and Danniel Thomas-Dodd among the other standouts in the team.

Yohan Blake will be returning to the Olympics stage for the third time, while youngsters such as Oblique Seville, Britany Anderson, Candice McLeod and Briana Williams, will be making their first appearance at the showpiece event.

Interestingly, the JAAA’s list does not include Rasheed Broadbell, who missed the championships due to injury, but had according to his coach Stephen Francis, submitted a medical exemption, given his top three ranking at the time in the 110m hurdles.


Tyquendo Tracey (100m)

Yohan Blake (100m/200m)

Oblique Seville (100m)

Julian Forte (100m reserve/200m/4x100m)

Jevaughn Minzie (4x100m)

Nigel Ellis (4x100m)

Rasheed Dwyer (200m)

Demish Gaye (400m)

*Christopher Taylor (400m)

Nathon Allen (400m)

Sean Bailey (4x400m)

Karayme Bartley (4x400m)

Rusheen McDonald (4x400m)

Ronald Levy (110m Hurdles)

Damion Thomas (110m Hurdles)

Hansle Parchment (110m Hurdles)

Phillip Lemonious (Reserve 110m Hurdles)

Jaheel Hyde (400m Hurdles)

Kemar Mowatt (400m Hurdles)

Leonardo Ledgister (400m Hurdles)

Tajay Gayle (Long Jump)

Carey McLeod (Long Jump/Triple Jump)

*O’Dayne Richards (Shot Put)

Fedrick Dacres (Discus)

Chad Wright (Discus)

Traves Smikle (Discus)

Javeir Brown (4x400m Mixed Relay)

Keeno Burrell (4x400m Mixed Relay)

Davonte Burnett (4x400m Mixed Relay)


Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (100m/200m)

Shericka Jackson (100m/200m)

Elaine Thompson Herah (100m/200m)

Briana Williams (Reserve 100m/4x100m)

Remona Burchell (4x100m)

Natasha Morrison (200m/4x100m)

Stephenie-Ann McPherson (400m)

Roneisha McGregor (400m)

Candice McLeod (400m)

Stacey-Ann Williams (reserve 400m/4x400m)

Tovea Jenkins (4x400m)

Junelle Bromfield (4x400m)

Natoya Goule (800m)

Megan Tapper (100m Hurdles)

Yanique Thompson (100m Hurdles)

Britany Anderson (100m Hurdles)

Danielle Williams (Reserve 100m Hurdles)

Janieve Russell (400m Hurdles)

Ronda Whyte (400m Hurdles)

Leah Nugent (400m Hurdles)

Shian Salmon (Reserve 400m Hurdles)

*Aisha Praught (1500m)

Tissanna Hickling (Long Jump)

*Chanice Porter (Long Jump)

Shanieka Ricketts (Triple Jump)

Kimberly Williams (Triple Jump)

Danniel Thomas-Dodd (Shot Put)

*Lloydricia Cameron (Shot Put)

Shadae Lawrence (Discus)

*Shanice Love (Discus)

Tiffany James (4x400m Mixed Relay)

Charokee Young (4x400m Mixed Relay)

Kemba Nelson (4x400m Mixed Relay)

NOTE: * = World Ranking Quota Acceptance

No comments

leave a comment

Welcome to JOA NeXXus Newsletter